I am struggling to believe that it is already August. Each month that passes is another pitiful reminder of how badly neglected my blog (and my writing in general) has become. I could put forward a million excuses for my lack of productivity – ranging from brand new job to a severe lack of inspiration – but that is not what this post is going to be about. With many of my friends endeavouring upon NANOWRIMO, and many others doing so well with their freelance/personal work, I have decided to allow myself no more excuses. Instead, I am going to take a look at the real reasons why I have been putting off writing for so long.

Firstly, I am aware that I set the bar too high with blogging in trying to upkeep the #dailypost. As anyone who keeps track of my blog will have noticed… I failed. Posting daily is a fantastic practice, and I applaud those who manage to keep it up. To me the idea was wonderful: to open up as many platforms for debate as possible. However, in practice, it created more dilemmas than discussion. I think the main issue was my own tendency to beat myself up when I miss a target. One day of failure to post and I was fully prepared to pack it all in and forget about writing altogether (as it appears I have done for several months). Perhaps this is my own quandary, and a more self-driven writer would overcome such anxieties in daily practice; either way, I have decided to aim to post monthly, rather than weekly.

Posting daily is a fantastic practice, and I applaud those who manage to keep it up. To me the idea was wonderful: to open up as many platforms for debate as possible. However, in practice, it created more dilemmas than discussion. I think the main issue was my own tendency to beat myself up when I miss a target. One day of failure to post and I was fully prepared to pack it all in and forget about writing altogether (as it appears I have done for several months). Perhaps this is my own quandary, and a more self-driven writer would overcome such anxieties in daily practice; either way, I have decided (for now) to aim to post monthly, rather than weekly.

My second hope is that posting less often will allow me to focus on quality over quantity. Whilst trying to cram in so many posts, I began to feel a lack of sincerity in my own work. Rather than writing about subjects I felt truly compelled to discuss, I was writing about anything from which I could drag a trace of inspiration. This also led me to think about the focus of my writing. I started my blog hoping to portray a range of interests and to open up various discussions. I wish to continue to do so, however, I think that talking more about specific subjects will help my writing to progress.

In all honesty, I have found, alongside working full-time, my writing time has become somewhat minimised. This is why (for the foreseeable future), I have decided to dedicate my writing time to book reviews and literary discussion. I hope that I will still find time to write about other topics, but this post is about commitment; my dedication to writing about writing.

IMG_2398

 

2 thoughts on “A Commitment to Writing

Leave a Reply

