I don’t know if this is just a British thing, but a lot of people (especially in my generation), have a really big problem with admitting that – yeah, we love ourselves. I suppose it has something to do with the fact that we get lumped in with the ‘vain millennials, always taking selfies,’ but there seems to be an issue around admitting love for our selves, and our appearance. We are continually reminded that modern media puts incressing pressure on us to ‘look good’ than ever, and I agree that this is a problem. But what about when we just have a moment, outside of societal expectations, when we just think – yeah, I look great today? Why is it that we are shamed for our so-called vanity? 

Perhaps even worse than this is the fact that we can’t take credit for our own talents. Even when we put a lot of time and effort into something, compliments are met with an overly modest response – ‘thank you, but it’s really not that good’ or, ‘oh, I didn’t really put much thought into it’. Why is it that we so often feel that it is not acceptable to take pride in what we do? Why is it so hard for most people to just say ‘thank you’ and stop at that, or ‘thanks, it took a long time, but it’s really payed off, I’m proud of my work’. 

I guess what I’m saying, is that I am going to make a conscious effort to abolish false-modesty. If I am proud of something, I’m going to learn to take a compliment and be openly proud of my work. Loving yourself is not always vanity, and it can’t be a bad thing to take pride in what you do! ♥ ☺ 

I like this pic of me, btw ☺ 

4 thoughts on “♥On loving yourself♥ 

Leave a Reply

