After having a lot of trouble with eczema, I thought I would post a little bit about my experience. I have been to the doctors and dermatologist several times for my eczema, which takes the form of pompholyx blisters on my hands. However, the remedies I have found most useful in managing this condition have been far more natural than the creams and pills that the doctors initially prescribed.

Disclaimer: of course, consult your doctor before changing your skincare regime and do what works for you, but this is what has worked for me so far…

The first step was avoiding contact with chemicals. Harsh cleaning products and even milder chemicals like body wash and shampoo often aggravate my skin. The key with pompholyx eczema is to keep the skin clean but dry and chemical free. Even prolonged or excessive contact with water could trigger blisters and itching on my hands. I cut back on chemical products and opted for natural alternatives (I’ll post about these soon).

The next step was to disinfect, protect and moisturise the skin. The products I found most useful are as follows:

  1. Apple cider vinegar (ACV) – This product often comes up on eczema forums and seems to have magical healing properties. It is great for reducing inflammation and redness and almost immediately soothes itching. My routine includes soaking my hands in a bowl of warm water with a tablespoon of ACV added in. It can also be helpful to carry a similar solution in a spray bottle and spritz it on the skin when itching occurs.
  2. Oats – following an ACV soak, I find it helpful to rub some oats on my hands. This is a mild exfoliant for any dead skin and the powder from the oats creates a kind of protective barrier from allergens. Although this method is not proven, several companies use oatmeal in their hand cream, like Aveno for example.
  3. Coconut oil – I have found coconut oil to be a great moisturiser. The oil creates a barrier while gradually soaking into moisturise the skin (I tend to just use it all over my body now – absolutely love it).

The final step is to try and treat inflammation from the inside. I make a turmeric and ginger lemonade which has fantastic anti-inflammatory properties. I drink this most mornings and can post a recipe if anyone wants it!
I hope this is helpful to any fellow eczema sufferers and that you find a routine that works for you! ♥👐

One thought on “🌿Going Natural w/ Eczema🌿

Leave a Reply

